Burger

SUITE. Zeichnung’21

Duration of the exhibition: 13.11.2021 – 26.02.2022

Curated by Reinhard Ermen

SUITE, in German we say “Zimmerflucht”, several rooms are connected by doors. In music, this is a sequence of dance movements or a (symphonic) excerpt from something larger. The pandemic, the great crisis that is not yet over, played a part in finding the theme. We stay at home and reach for the obvious, which appears in all conceivable, even surprising varieties. The obvious is fundamental; even where detailed imaginings or super-realisms take over. Concreteness, reflection on the actual offers support, it may also be dreamed. Inner spaces open up. This is where the music plays, the question: “What can drawing do” is omnipresent.

Guest curator Reinhard Ermen was in charge of the project “Drawing at the Time” at the “Kunstforum International” from 2009 to 2020. He is excited to bring the experience he gained there to bear here. He brings six positions, the other six come from the program of the Sturm Gallery (in Stuttgart for 25 years!), which has thus added a chapter for the year 2021 to its own established series “Drawing”. The exhibition is sponsored by NEUSTART KULTUR. A catalog will be published.

Die teilnehmenden Künstlerinnen und Künstler: Frank Badur (*1944, Berlin), Werner Degreif (*1954, Mannheim), Fernando García Correa (*1959, Mexico City), Melanie Grocki (*1983, Stuttgart), Barbara Hindahl (*1960, Mannheim), Stefan Löffelhardt (*1959, Düsseldorf), Thomas Müller (*1959, Stuttgart), Gabriela Oberkofler (1975, Stuttgart), Andreas Karl Schulze (*1955, Hannover), Rebecca Salter (*1955, London),  Ulrich Wellmann (*1952, Köln) and Stefan Zsaitsits (*1981, Wien).

Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm
Exhibition view Gallery Michael Sturm

Burger

SUITE. Zeichnung’21

Eröffnung: 13. November 2021, 11.00 – 17.00 Uhr
Ausstellungsdauer: 13.11.2021 – 26.02.2022

Kuratiert von Reinhard Ermen

SUITE, auf Deutsch sagt man „Zimmerflucht“, mehrere Räume sind durch Türen verbunden. In der Musik ist das eine Folge von Tanzsätzen, bzw. ein (symphonischer) Auszug aus etwas Größerem. Die Pandemie, die große Krise, die noch nicht vorüber ist, hat bei der Themenfindung etwas mitgespielt. Wir bleiben zu Hause und greifen nach dem Naheliegenden, das in allen denkbaren, auch überraschenden Spielarten auftaucht. Das Naheliegende ist das Grundsätzliche; auch da, wo ausführliche Imaginationen oder Superrealismen das Sagen haben. Konkretion, Besinnung auf’s Eigentlliche bietet Halt, es darf auch geträumt werden. Innenräume tun sich auf. Hier spielt die Musik, die Frage: „Was kann Zeichnung“ ist allgegenwärtig.

Der Gastkurator Reinhard Ermen hat von 2009 bis 2020 im „Kunstforum International“ das Projekt „Zeichnen zur Zeit“ betreut. Es reizt ihn, die dabei gemachten Erfahrungen hier einzubringen. Sechs Positionen bringt er mit, die anderen sechs stammen aus dem Programm der Galerie Sturm (seit 25 Jahren in Stuttgart!), die damit der eigenen, eingeführten Reihe „Zeichnung“ ein Kapitel für das Jahr 2021 hinzugefügt. Die Ausstellung wird gefördert durch NEUSTART KULTUR. Es erscheint ein Katalog.

Die teilnehmenden Künstlerinnen und Künstler: Frank Badur (*1944) Berlin. Werner Degreif (*1954) Mannheim. Fernando García Correa (*1959) Mexico City. Melanie Grocki (*1983) Stuttgart. Barbara Hindahl (*1960) Mannheim. Stefan Löffelhardt (*1959) Düsseldorf. Thomas Müller (*1959) Stuttgart. Gabriela Oberkofler (1975) Stuttgart. Andreas Karl Schulze (*1955) Hannover. Rebecca Salter (*1955) London. Ulrich Wellmann (*1952) Köln. Stefan Zsaitsits (*1981) Wien.